Elgar The Dream of Gerontius 20 May 2017

Dream of Gerontius thumbnailRegarded by many as Edward Elgar’s finest work, The Dream of Gerontius sets the text of John Henry Newman’s poem that first appeared in 1865. Conversion to Roman Catholicism featured in both men’s lives:

Read more: Elgar The Dream of Gerontius 20 May 2017

Verdi Requiem 18 March 2017

Verdi ThumbnailWhat a great sing is Verdi's ever-popular Requiem for a choral society!  And what a great listening experience it is for an audience when it hears such a fine performance as that given by the Exeter Philharmonic Choir at a concert in Exeter Cathedral on 18 March. 

Read more: Verdi Requiem 18 March 2017

Workshop on Elgar’s The Dream of Gerontius –

Gerontius thumbnail‘a brilliant day of singing’

‘Friendly atmosphere, people’s willingness to help and last, but not least, the musical experience’

READ THE REVIEW

Carol Concert 14 & 15 December 2016

Carols inset 16

Seeing the red bow-ties and sparkling scarves of the choir, a flower in Andrew Millington’s buttonhole and the gleaming instruments of Exeter Brass, we anticipated a festive evening and were not disappointed.

Read more: Carol Concert 14 & 15 December 2016

Messiah Concert 22 October 2016

Messiah insetAfter introductions for the Lord Mayor’s Concert, celebrating the choir’s 170th anniversary season with Handel’s Messiah, the Exeter Chamber Orchestra gave an excellent start with the overture to this well-known work.

Read more: Messiah Concert 22 October 2016

Benedicite Concert 14 May 2016

Benedicite ReviewOn Saturday 14 May I needed an artistic and encouraging tonic. Thank you, EPC and Devon County Junior Choir, for producing it in a concert of music of different styles presented to a capacity audience.

Read more: Benedicite Concert 14 May 2016

Sea Symphony

Wind and Spray

Review of the Vaughan Williams concert, March 2016

Performances of Vaughan Williams’s music continue to come to our attention from all around the world.

Read more: Sea Symphony

Carol Concert 9 & 10 December 2015

Carols image...Oh dear, not another Christmas concert – my fifth in a week! However, I am so pleased that I didn’t miss this one. It was excellent –

A carol concert with a difference.

Read more: Carol Concert 9 & 10 December 2015

Haydn / Handel 19 November 2015

Haydn Handel insetAfter the rousing opening chorus, with some thrilling brass playing, of Handel’s 1743 Dettingen Te Deum, I found myself playing ‘Spot the well-known Handel melody’ game....

Read more: Haydn / Handel 19 November 2015

Mendelssohn Elijah 16th May 2015

Elijah Insetthe Exeter Philharmonic Choir under Andrew Millington’s firm baton, produced a really quite thrilling sound...

Read more: Mendelssohn Elijah 16th May 2015

You are here: Home Reviews